Sister City relationships

Sister city relationships foster the growth of a mutual understanding and long-term friendship between countries and regions, as well as the communities within them. This bond allows for a continuous exchange of ideas and culture, and even facilitates development within the areas of trade and tourism.

The Sister Cities concept is unique. It is two-way; the give and take is shared by both sides and provides for structured, continuous contact between the cities and citizens involved. It brings together the volunteer resources of each pair of sister cities. It offers a mechanism at the community level for any person or organisation to become involved in the field of international relations by stimulating interaction between people of different cultures and countries on a people-to-people basis.

If you are looking to establish a Sister City or Sister School relationship, please click HERE for more information, as well as application forms that you can fill out, so that we can process your expression of interest!

(Please note that the following list is in the process of being updated and may not be accurate)

New Zealand’s sister cities are found in the following countries and regions:

  1. Australia
  2. Belgium
  3. Canada
  4. China
  5. Cook Islands
  6. Denmark
  7. Fiji
  8. France
  9. Germany
  10. Greece
  11. Indonesia
  12. Ireland
  13. Italy
  14. Japan
  15. Netherlands
  16. Samoa
  17. South Korea
  18. Spain
  19. Tahiti
  20. Taiwan
  21. Tonga
  22. Turkey
  23. United Kingdom (England, Scotland)
  24. United States

Cities looking for a New Zealand sister city

This site is currently being upgraded. If you can’t find something, please email

search previous next tag category expand menu location phone mail time cart zoom edit close